Monday, November 2, 2009

Times are tough

Full disclosure here: I'm unemployed right now.  What's weird about it is how busy I am; I'm networking, applying for jobs, and hanging out with friends who are suddenly in close proximity.  Even though I don't have a job, my most prolific gaming time is still when I'm on the can (the DS and PSP that I bought back when money was plentiful are godsends now).

Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Hey, one more for the pile

So we're not super good at this whole "regularity of posts" thing, but hey, after a week and a half, we're back, yet again.

Still busy, still unemployed.  More busy this time: I've only had the chance to play Rock Band 2, Izuna: Legend of the Unemployed Ninja, and Dragon Quest Heroes: Rocket Slime.  I'm so close to beating the latter two, I can taste it.  I did end up finishing Children of Mana, even clearing the bonus end dungeon, and the single-player combat remained satisfying throughout.  I have no desire to play it again with any characters or alongside friends, because the different characters differ mostly in damage ratings i.e. are exactly the same despite their difference in sprites.  Also, one of them gets stronger magic, which is a giant waste of time since magic sucks in this game, so whatever.

Interesting note about Izuna; they made the eponymous Ninja's sprite right-handed no matter which way she's facing, which means they doubled their work.  Fascinating.

:SñrC

Saturday, October 10, 2009

L00t!

It's what makes the world go round.  In games, of course.

Loot provides the satisfaction of a job well done in many games, especially when the underlying goal (i.e. your job) is to make it all the way through the adventure structure the programmer has provided for you.  If the reward is at the end of the entire game, all but the most fervent of players will simply stay away (Battletoads, you damn bastard!), but if you drip-feed your players rewards, i.e. loot, each new piece will be positive reinforcement to get the next.  Games without loot are forced to use satisfying gameplay to keep the attention of their players, which works for, say, Tetris, but tends to restrict the appeal of games whose gameplay lacks that universal approachability, such as the side-scrolling beat-'em-ups we do so love around here.  Providing the right loot is what makes games like Diablo 2 and World of Warcraft such successes, while failing to provide a good loot balance can hurt similarly-constructed and arguably better-looking games like Titan Quest and the X-Men Legends/Ultimate Alliance series.

If you get loot right, you win.

So what the hell are you supposed to do when you have 4 or more people playing cooperatively to distribute loot evenly?  I mean seriously, god damn it, I am tired of bickering over loot.  So fucking tired.  I don't mean that the other players deny me the powerful items I need to stay in the game, 'cause if that shit happened, I would have to start burying some bodies.  No, I'm referring to the less objectionable stuff that goes on in coop kill 'n loot games.  Stuff like:
  1. One person grabbing everything they can (distributing the good stuff) and then announcing that we should return to town when their inventory fills. (Has happened to me in almost every D2 party.  I've actually done this several times)
  2. The game not allowing the redistribution of gold when one person needs an item from the store and no one has enough money to buy it separately, even if they do all together. (Fucking Champions, you great game you)
  3. Clicking on the rewards as fast as possible, so us discerning types can't see what's on the ground. ("So what dropped" "I don't know, let me pause the game and interrupt the action" "Goddammit")
  4. Saying "oh hey, I picked this thing up that's supposed to be yours, want it?"  (Dude, leave it on the ground)
  5. One person bitching about this shit all the time (I'm looking at you, me)
  6. Forgetting to share, such as with crafting items ("dude, all I need is one topaz" "no but then I will have to give you one topaz") or with new awesome equipment ("Awesome I got new better armor" "what happened to your old one that I needed" "Oh, uh, I sold it" "!%@#$%@")
You can't blame your friends for acting this way, because we're all in it for the instant gratification.  However, there's no good way to talk about it constructively, because it makes you sound like a whiny asshole who demands too much.  Left without a way to blame my friends, I must, of course, project my anger onto the developers.  Damn you devs!


This dude is angry at someone.  Probably you.

I can't use simple solutions, like "maturity", or "just letting it go", because we're all essentially competing over rewards even if we honestly don't want to hoard them.  The obtaining of loot is the reason why all of us are here, and if we hit the point where we no longer care about obtaining it, then we no longer really care about playing the game.  What to do, then?

First of all, parties should get group loot bins, with enough storage space as the party has left, collectively.  This way, everything you pick up goes in the loot bin and y'all can take time to decide what each member should take as a group, instead of as individuals grasping at straws.  I'm sure there's a smart way to program it so that the good shit gets highlighted, such that each person can see what they would like and talk while everyone has their say.  Second, implement gold trading, seriously.  Third, highlight armor pieces in your inventory that are "better" than what your friends are carrying; I shouldn't have to announce my armor class to everyone just to make sure I get what I need.  Finally, this is all stuff that should be implemented for playing with friends.  With people you don't know, the tried and true "loot roll" system works just fine, but amongst friends, you really need systems that compensate for the fact that you're all adults that happen to like each other.  If you're all mature enough to opt in to a group loot system, then this will work fine for you.

Meanwhile, if you're playing Champions of Norrath on the PS2, just let it go, Conquistador.  Seriously.

:SñrC
Image credit: the Kansas City Pitch

Friday, October 9, 2009

Assessing the territory

*YAWN*


How long was I asleep? What, really? Whoa, that was unexpected. Funny, when all the little components of life come together you can really lose track of time.

So, you should have already read Conquistador’s explanation of our lapse, and a bit about what has been going on since then, so I’ll not reiterate what has already been duly expressed, (if you missed it: look down). Here I am, returned to the precipice (soapbox?) of my grand mountain, prepared to once again spin tales of our digital heroics, tabletop tomfoolery, and maybe even comical highjinks (more on that later). Woe to the conquered and praises to our fellows in the Kingdom of Gaming.

Lately I’ve been possessed to return to formerly forgotten realms (including, appropriately, THE Forgotten Realms) to make good on oaths from ancient days. I am referring, of course, to my Old-School Gaming Binge™. I have recently spend time in the lands of Secret of Mana, Champions of Norrath, Baldur’s Gate, even Magical Quest 2, to name just a few, and there is no end in sight for my relapse. In fact, I am currently working to procure a certain ‘Ultima Collection’ so that I can do something I could only dream of in my formative years: rule over Britannia! Certainly no magical draught is necessary to ease these symptoms (unless there is one to give me more gaming time), only an investment of spirit I am willing to pay. I feel sorry for the next skeleton to cross my path.


Jump for more

Reawakening

You awake in a dark room. An acrid smell, like miscast arcana, fills your lungs with your first inhalation. The muscles in your body are tight, making you feel that your sleep was fitful, as if you were forced to defend yourself against some ghastly apparition or metallic construct. In your mouth the sweet-yet-savory residue of some grand feast still lingers. What do you do?

. . . rise from the bed . . .

You sit up and shake the knots from your limbs. Running a hand over your face you wipe the dust from your eyes and take a look around the room. You do not remember coming here. In fact, you are certain that you have never seen this place before, that you have no clue where “here” is. You stand and feel the blood rush through your body for what seems the like the first time in ages. As you examine yourself you are surprised to note that the clothing you wear is also unfamiliar, clearly not your own yet fitted perfectly to your body.

. . . examine the room closely . . .

You are in a stone-walled chamber, like a cave mined out of pure-black obsidian. The bed you previously laid upon, seeming so soft, is actually made of glowing amber covered in thick moss. On a small stand made from the stump of a wide, grey tree is a book. You pick up the book and feel a cold surge through your fingers, and it is strangely comforting. The book seems to be bound in a frosty hide. You attempt to read from the tome but the letters swirl and dance, confusing you. You carefully close the book and tuck it under your arm. As you turn you notice a large wooden door, stained red from exposure to the unusual elements that dance through the air of this place.

. . . go through the door . . .

You grasp the solid brass handle of the door and swing in open, revealing a long portal before you. Enlivened, you stride through the doorframe and into the unknown.

Thursday, October 8, 2009

While you were out

Things have happened in the intervening postless year.  Board things.  Card things.  Basically, here at The 5th Stage we have plunged wholeheartedly into what I'm going to call hobby gaming.

What is hobby gaming?  Well, it's a bullshit and vague term that I use to refer to tabletop games that concern themselves with fictional fantasy elements instead of abstract representations, i.e. Dungeons & Dragons and Dominion as opposed to Monopoly, Chess, or Parcheesi.  It's a terrible term that attempts to draw a line where there really isn't one, but it suits my purposes fine because we're all huge nerds around here.

So, having copped to this and defined that, I find myself as fascinated by hobby games as I am by video games.  In fact, some of my favorite video games either borrow from mechanics found in hobby games or are straight translations of some of the more popular titles.  As I mentioned the other day, I'm currently playing Blood Bowl, which is a relatively faithful electronic recreation of the hit Warhammer American football game, and boy am I enjoying myself.  I'm playing as a Lizardman team, which means I have a strong line and awesome ball running but I can't pass for crap.  Thus, my games involve me trying to win the physical showdown until I can get the ball, at which point one of my runners makes like Dante Hall and screams down the field at a breakneck pace.  For the record, this is about as much football knowledge as I am able to express.  Additionally, this is a game where the fans can kill the ref on the first kickoff, resulting in the replacement ref not calling any penalties for an entire half (when this happened, I injured every member of the opposing Skaven -- Ratmen -- team until they had 4 players left on the field out of 11 starters and 5 relievers).  This is not one of those "simulation" football titles.


The realism must be seen to be believed

Honestly, I can't really recommend this game to all turn-based-strategy game enthusiasts.  For starters, the premise of Blood Bowl makes this game based on competing in competitions instead of following a story, so the only video gamerswho can truly enjoy the game are those who can see SRPG's as complex forms of chess.  From the other end, lovers of grid-based tactical miniatures games may find the AI a little lacking and the tendency of the online community to rage quit when losing players to permanent injury somewhat frustrating.  However, the game's graphics are solid and the mechanics match Blood Bowl's living rulebook pretty well.  It's a pretty decent introduction to playing Blood Bowl to the uninitiated, and it lets you experiment with teams without fear of losing your important players to silly things like the dice dictating their demise.

If managing a football team staffed with Orcs from Warhammer sounds like your idea of fun, definitely check this game out.  This is one of those cases where the developers have created a pretty good product in a niche genre that needs support from all of the gamers who love it, so feel free to subsidize their future efforts, if for nothing else than the fact that they've let you kill goblins with giant lizardmen in eye-popping HD.

 :SñrC

All together now/ 1,2,3 (hey, hey)

Tuesday, October 6, 2009

I've made a huge mistake

Circumstances have conspired to bring me closer to the Mana series than ever before: I mean real close, hey, I might actually finish this game close.  Being filthy Americans, Jamieson and I still call it the "Secret of Mana" series instead of, say, Seiken Densetsu ("Holy Sword Legend", I'm told) or the "Mana" series in the style of Wikipedia.  Americans have no real reason to call the series anything else, mainly because Secret of Mana is the only good game in the series we've ever noticed, even though Legend of Mana was released here and was pretty good.  Hell, J and I both own Legend of Mana, and J likes it more than the SNES games, but we still call the series "Secret of Mana" after the second game to reach these shores.  Mostly because nostalgia is a bitch.

Not just any bitch: she's a bitch that makes you try and own every Mana game.  I have at my disposal 7 of the 10:
Seiken Densetsu (Final Fantasy Legend)
Seiken Densetsu 2 (Secret of Mana)
Seiken Densetsu 3
Seiken Densetsu: Legend of Mana
Shinyaku Seiken Densetsu (Sword of Mana, remake of first game)

Seiken Densetsu DS: Children of Mana
Seiken Densetsu 4 (Dawn of Mana)

That last one there broke the spell.


Fuck you.

More after die jumpen. (mental note: learn German at some point)

Wow, seriously?

Dude, it's been like a week since I posted?  God damn.  Sorry about that everyone (read: me), busy, busy week, and the newest post took some thought and mulling.  Gotta figure out how to multitrack that mind of mine.

In related news, Dungeon Fighter Online is still awesome.  Games I've played since my last post:


Video Games: Children of Mana, Blood Bowl PSP, Diablo 2, Dungeon Fighter Online, Seiken Densetsu 3, Secret of Mana
Board Games: Dominion

I can recommend all of them except Children of Mana, which I like because I am stupid.

:SñrC

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Wherefore art thou 3-D?

This is by no means a new trend, but people (read: Game Directors) still seem to think that the Nintendo DS can handle rasterized 3-D graphics.  It can't.  Seriously.  Just look at the evidence:


This game is new, people

Remember what the PS1 and the N64 could do?  That's how powerful the DS hardware is.  Yes, congratulations, you can get the dog to sing, but it's not good singing and nobody truly wants to hear it in the first place.  Sure, the pre-rendered cutscene videos are gorgeous, and getting a cell-shaded polygonal character to show up right is a technical marvel, but it still looks like ass.


 Not Pictured: the hole in between

It's not like 3D models and physics are easier to get functioning than 2D sprites are to draw and animate, and the 2D stuff looks better on the DS every time, just because its competition is doomed to mediocrity from the beginning.  I don't believe 3D art is inherently bad, just that there's times when it's not necessary and not better looking than the alternative; by and large, when you're making a game on the NDS, that is the time to stop thinking in 3D.  For example, Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass uses a 2D isometric viewpoint, while Final Fantasy IV uses all the physics found in the original SNES game, which is basically none at all.  Why are you using low-polygon-count models if the alternative looks miles better?


Sweet shadows and camera angle guys.  Totally justifies all three dimensions.

This has nothing to do with gameplay, nothing to do with the concept with 3D art as a whole.  If these games were on anything with the same or better power as a PS2, you could get some shaders, some more polygons, all kinds of 3D awesomeness up in that bitch and then dramatically spin the camera all over the goddamn place.  The kinds of things they were doing with 3D models and faux-cell shaded 3D on last generation's consoles were fascinating and are only getting better in this generation, but this NDS stuff?  This is a fucking waste of everyone's time.  When the texture art is made to look worse by the model it's covering, you know you made the wrong choice.

:SñrC

Image credits:
(Final Fantasy IV) Defunct Games
(Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass) GameZone
(Kingdom Hearts 385/2) GayGamer.net

Sunday, September 27, 2009

Wall o' Text: Literally the least important problem running through my brain right now

So I'm going to start a "feature" now ("feature" is what the people who used to write for newspapers call it), called Wall o' TextWall o' Text is what happens when one starts writing down the thoughts one has been mulling over in one's head since one can't actually discuss them with anyone else because they're far too inane.  Basically, it's a stream of focused consciousness, a long diatribe about a very small thing.  Think of the title as a fair warning, because there are definitely some words up ahead here, in a kind of wall formation built to assault the senses.  Wall formations get + 3 to assault, you know.
 

Let's talk Diablo III.

Yes, Diabo III, that impending juggernaut that prevents any Action RPG from ever achieving true undeniable greatness.
Sorry, Titan Quest: you just didn't have the right online community.
Sorry, Sacred 1 & 2: your point and click action is more like a slow, boring MMO.
Sorry, Loki: you weren't even worth playing, you useless piece of shit.

Asides aside, I'm really looking forward to the revealing of the fifth class.  As of this writing, only the first four have been revealed: Barbarian, Witch Doctor, Wizard, and Monk.  Blizzard has said they aren't bringing anyone else back (besides the refactored Barb) because the old classes don't really have anything new to bring to the table.  I, for one, have to agree with them.

more on this (incredibly boring) topic after the jump.

Saturday, September 26, 2009

I think of it more like a place to put personal opinions

I'm assuming that no one will read this post by the time this sale is over, but Direct 2 Drive is having a $5 sale on a bunch of games to celebrate their 5th anniversary, all month long.  5 weeks, actually.  Included are some of my favorites:  Titan Quest, Civ 4, and X-COM.

Ah, X-COM.

I played it on a friend's computer back in the bad old days of DOS memory management and windows 95 tomfoolery.  It was the coolest goddamn thing ever.

 
 Pictured: the coolest goddamn thing ever.

In the context of the times, it was as awesome as those outdated "Ultimate Gaming Machine" ads that say that no one could ever want more than 128 megs of RAM.  You controlled an ultimately expendable army of hopelessly outclassed human recruits whose only chance came in the form of stealing alien weaponry and expending the considerable assets of the free world on shit-tons of hi-tech research.  Aliens could still kill the hell out of your dudes, though, as could your own side's mis-thrown grenades and the fact that the game implemented line of sight so that corners were basically lethal traps spewing alien bullets.  Make no mistake, at 10 years old, this game was HARD.  It kicked our asses even as we succeeded in our mission goals.

There's a reason why this game is heralded as a cult classic and why the creator keeps trying to recapture the glory.  It's basically the best tactical miniatures board game (think Space Hulk) you've ever played on a computer, and the "realtime" research system bests the one from Syndicate (Bullfrog Productions i.e. PETER GODDAMN MOLYNEUX) even though it's about three years older. So yeah, it's a good game with solid concepts that were possibly even ahead of its time; that says cult classic to me no matter how many times you slice it.

If you haven't played X-COM and can put up with the pixellation, the first two games are easily worth the $5 dollars d2d is charging for all five.  Otherwise, check out UFO: Alien Invasion, a game heavily based off of the original X-COM (or UFO: Enemy Unknown as it's called in Europe).  Worth playing if you like Strategy RPG's like FFTactics, or anything mentioned in Kat Bailey's Strategery category on the 1up.com RPG blog.  Especially for $5.

I used to have a policy that said that any game on a $5 sale is probably worth checking out.  Glad to see that Digital Distribution has made this theory viable.

:SñrC

(image courtesy of GameSpot)

Friday, September 25, 2009

Bang Bang

Loaded the Dungeon Fighter Online open beta last night....I'm impressed.  I love side scrolling brawlers with an eerie passion, so said love isn't unexpected, but I'm really enjoying mashing the attack button in this game.  It's not River City Ransom--what could be?--and I haven't even done a dungeon in "multiplayer", but the goblin-punching execution works, especially when you get to the first big boss, a screen-tall minotaur that's easily 5 times harder that the first boss minotaur they toss at you.  My favorite part of any beat-'em-up is finding an enemy large enough to last through the crazy carnage you can dish out, and that huge jackass did not disappoint: I juggled him like a beach ball and he still stood up and knocked me across the screen.  The free price point makes it that much more recommendable even though I don't know how the rest of the game is and I've only played as the fistfighter (punch them in the face).  Oh, for the record: you can play as a gunfighter who shoots assholes with a gattling gun. In the face.

She's totally about to give him the German Suplex Bridge.  Hell yes.

The art direction's, well, Japanese (read: spiky hair, gamut of "moe" stereotypes, boobs.  I don't care if it's actually Korean, pay respects to the masters of perv), but the graphics are smooth and appealing to those of us weaned on brawlers like Streets of Rage and King of Dragons.  Plus, you can suplex people.  What's not to love?

I love a good face-punching.

:SñrC

(image courtesy of 2d-X.com)

And We're Back?

Oof.  Cobwebs everywhere.

So, in the intervening year, we have continued playing games; sadly, there has been no writing.  Let this be a glorious hiatus from not posting anything.

Time to dust off the old post editor and put some words onto webservers.

:SñrC